Mothica announces new album 'Kissing Death' and releases first 4 singles

Mothica announces new album 'Kissing Death' and releases first 4 singles

Mothica has just announced her fourth album 'Kissing Death' and released the first 4 singles with another 3 singles dropping before the album is released on August 23rd. Kissing Death is an immersive visual album which covers topics such as her personal battles with depression, addiction, and suicidal ideation. Death is an uncomfortable topic for most people but Mothica decides to dancing with it, processing her pain throughout the album with heavy guitar riffs and catchy pop beats. This album portrays a dark rom-com with 'death' being the 'love interest' throughout. Her story is told with help from the music videos for each track that can be found on YouTube.


The first single released is 'Doomed' which has been described as a 'sibling song' to 'Forever Fifteen', it is a melancholic ballad with a shoe-gaze influence. This track explores the abuse she endured at the hands of her Youth Pastor in Oklahoma, her hometown. This single explores her feelings she has for 'what could have been' if she hadn't been subjected to this abuse. She claims that she was labelled as a 'gifted child' but her depression took over at a young age and sabotaged her bright future she had ahead, leading her to feel like a disappointment as she grew up; 'I guess I was doomed from the start'. I'm obsessed with the production on this song and feel like it is a highly relatable song for many people.

Curiosity Killed the Moth

'Curiosity Killed the Moth' is the second single on the upcoming album and is much more upbeat than the previous track. Mothica explained that she wanted to make it sound like a movie soundtrack to go along with the storytelling aspect of the album. This song is a 'play on words' of 'curiosity killed the cat' and 'like a moth to a flame'. The track starts with soft guitar and vocals before descending into heavy synths and deeper lyrics then picking up with a strong drum beat. The whole track then ramps up in energy. Each song is so different so far, there's definitely something for everyone.


Next up is 'Red', which starts off very upbeat with strong percussion and heavy guitar riffs. This song was heavily inspired by the type of rock songs she grew up listening to as she wanted to recreate a song reminiscent of her teenage years that her younger self would have loved, despite the self-destructive lyrics 'I'll never learn until I see red'. I have to say, I think this is my favourite single so far and I love the video which features Britt Bowman, Marcy Avila and Jayden Hammer as her band at her Rock show. Being a photographer myself, seeing the behind the scenes of making this video was fascinating and the amount of creativity that went into it, to tackle the filming hurdles they encountered, is insane and so interesting. The video is shot from the point of view of her younger self attending her own rock show, showing that the future was going to be ok and she would get far despite the hurdles she had to face.

The Reaper

'The Reaper' is an upbeat dance track in which she proclaims her love for the Grim Reaper and portrays him as a 'good guy'. Having not released a love song before, or really written about any of her relationships, she wanted to try something different and this track was born. It's a light-hearted song that plays on the Album title 'Kissing Death'. The video is filled with humour and this song would be a perfect addition to a Goth Club Night playlist.

Keep your eyes peeled for the next singles 'Toxins', 'Mirage' and 'Afterlife'.


  1. The Void
  2. Exit Plan
  3. Another High
  4. Doomed
  5. Curiosity Killed the Moth
  6. Red
  7. The Reaper
  8. Toxins
  9. Afterlife
  10. Mirage
  11. Oblivion for Two
  12. Kissing death

Catch Mothica on tour this fall at the dates and locations below:

Read more